The Persistence of Origin
  A World of Difference
  Universe Exhibit
  Interview with Fred Chappell

Fred Chappell is the author of twelve books of poetry, including The World Between the Eyes (LSU Press, 1971), Bloodfire, (LSU Press, 1978), Earthsleep (LSU Press, 1980), Castle Tzingal (LSU Press, 1984), Source (LSU Press, 1985), First and Last Words (LSU Press, 1989), Spring Garden: New and Selected Poems (LSU Press, 1995), and Family Gathering (LSU Press, 2000); eight novels, including It Is Time, Lord (Atheneum, 1963), The Gaudy Place (Harcourt Brace, 1972), Brighten the Corner Where You Are (St. Martin's Press, 1989), and Look Back All the Green Valley (Picador, 1999); and four books of short fiction and criticism. He has been the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including a Rockefeller Grant (1967-68), The Roanoke-Chowan Poetry Prize (1972, 1975, 1979, 1980, 1985, 1989), The Bollingen Prize in Poetry (1985), The T.S. Eliot Prize (1993), The Aiken Taylor Award in Poetry (1996), and The Lenore Heasley Prize (1999). In 1998 Governor James Hunt named him The North Carolina Poet Laureate. He has taught at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro since 1964 and is currently a faculty member in UNC-G's MFA Writing Program.
(Photo Provided By: University of North Carolina-Greensboro)

Home      Register     About Us/Staff     Submit     Links     Contributors     Advertising     Archives     Blog     Donation     Contact Us